Rain stops play … again

Dan Trent writes:

Once again it seems the rain in Spain falls mainly on Ascari circuit. I was here in February for the Audi R8 launch when a set of arm bands and a paddle would have been more use than fancy driving shoes and a Nomex suit. So hearing the launch for the Renaultsport Megane would also include a visit to this millionaires’ playground I was looking forward to another go.

But as you can see, once again Ascari resembles less a racing track and more a white water rapids course. Rafting anyone? Because we’re sure as hell not going to be driving the Meganes any time soon.

Still, at least I got a run in before the heavens really opened. Something to be said for an early start and shamelessly barging my way to the front of the queue for the track. Despite my best efforts I didn’t quite manage to be the first here though, being overtaken in the fog on the way by some of the Renault event staff in a diesel Clio, much to the amusement of my journalistic colleagues. My fragile ego recovered slightly when I found out who was driving – namely two-times French rally champion Emmanuel Guigo, also on his way to the circuit for some demo laps in the Megane.

Dan

Links:

Audi’s incredible amphibious R8

Wish you were here?

Share It

 del.icio.us   Digg   Facebook   Google 
 Live Spaces   MySpace   Newsvine   Reddit 
 StumbleUpon   Technorati   Twitter   Yahoo! My Web 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment