Nissan 370Z? On track? In the rain? Are you mad?


Pic by Justin Couture
Dan Trent writes:

I’ve always considered the Nissan Z cars to be fun but rather blunt tools. All macho posturing but perhaps lacking that final bit of finesse you’d find in a Cayman or Boxster.

I was dead wrong as it turns out! Nothing shows up a car’s class – or lack of it – like a wet track and a visit to a sodden Brands Hatch yesterday in a 370Z to do my ARDS race licence test had me eyeing the black clouds nervously.

After all, Zs can be a tad skiddy in the dry. But with Paddock Hill Bend looking more like a white water course than a race track I was expecting to see an awful lot of the ESP light and/or slithering about.

Nothing of the sort as it turned out. Bizarrely after all that chest beating on the road – the Z’s diff is grabby at low speeds and the controls seemingly deliberately ‘it’s not for girls’ heavy – it actually mellows when you start going for it and showing surprising composure.

To the point I could happily punt it along a soaking wet track for lap after lap and not see a glimpse of the ESP light flashing – always an indicator of a well sorted car. And no, I wasn’t nursing it either. The fact the Z could be hustled around in those conditions without calling on the black boxes to keep it out of the Armco is seriously impressive, to the point where I was so confident I even switched the stability control off. Sure, I had a couple of slithers but nothing like the riot of oversteer I was expecting. If I’d had the guts that was there for the taking of course. But I didn’t. And the marshals were very quick to black flag any sideways antics, giving me a handy excuse for being a bit of a wuss.

Pic by Justin Couture
A Cayman is, by some way, still the sharper tool. But it’s a whole £10K more expensive (before options) and compared with, say, a BMW Z4 the Nissan is much more feelsome and honest in its responses. I came away from Brands seriously impressed. And the race licence? That’s another story… 

Dan

Links:
Nissan 370Z first drive
Porsche Cayman S roadtest
Porsche minimum spend scam exposed
ARDS race licence test at Brands Hatch

Share It

 del.icio.us   Digg   Facebook   Google 
 Live Spaces   MySpace   Newsvine   Reddit 
 StumbleUpon   Technorati   Twitter   Yahoo! My Web 

This entry was posted in On the Road. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment