911 GT3 RS splashes out


Dan Trent writes:
So, ‘our’ 911 GT3 RS has just been collected. And, for the first time since it arrived on Monday, it’s stopped raining.

Given that it runs on scarily bald looking Michelin Pilot Cup Sport tyres you’d have thought this would be time for wailing and gnashing of teeth at fate ruining what should have been the ultimate drive in the ultimate 911.

Actually no. As I discovered when I did a rain-soaked lap of Wales in the standard GT3 these supposedly scary, bite you if you blink hardcore 911s are actually surprisingly usable in the wet. Check out this clip from the aforementioned Welsh roadtrip if you were in any doubt!
   
Two things help. First, the inherent mechanical grip these cars generate is simply incredible, come rain or shine. Second, there’s so much communication through the wheel and the seat of your pants you can feel how much grip there is, or isn’t, which removes a huge degree of the fear factor. It’s not foolproof and I did have a couple of slithers in yesterday’s torrential downpours (yes, I’m glad RS Porsches now have stability control…) but as long as you’re not being an id
iot (see above) the GT3 and RS are so honest in their responses there’s a kind of natural comfort zone in which you find yourself.

Like the GT3 though it takes a while to feel entirely at home. Again, I started out tense, wired and more than a little nervy. And then, without really noticing, found I was relaxing into the seat, my grip on the wheel had relaxed a tad, my elbows had dropped and I was actually driving it properly. God it felt good!

And then a man came and took it away. I couldn’t care less that the sun’s now shining!

Dan

Links:
911 GT3 vs Clio Cup
"I’m taking the day off"
Around Wales in a GT3

Share It

 del.icio.us   Digg   Facebook   Google 
 Live Spaces   MySpace   Newsvine   Reddit 
 StumbleUpon   Technorati   Twitter   Yahoo! My Web 

This entry was posted in In the car park. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment